There Has To Come A Time – Blogs – Redwood Falls Gazette

email

I have been a pastor in the United Methodist Church since 1997 and I was appointed to my home church in Devils Lake in July 2014. I love to write and have some published works. Blogging is a hobby of mine and this will be my third blog. I have a grown daughter named Ashley who is a student and sometime resident of Devils Lake. I am a movie buff, an Anglophile, and I possess more books than I have time to read! Recent Posts Nov. 14, 2014 12:01 a.m. Dec. 14, 2014 12:01 a.m. I remember when our clergy health plan introduced to us the enrollment in the Virgin Health Miles program, which requires us to wear a pedometer with a goal of 10,000 steps per day. Within this program we also are able to earn cash incentives for “good behavior” such as working out, making lifestyle changes, and of course, weight loss. When I received my first pedometer I explained it to my congregations and told them that with the incentive to do 10,000 steps a day they would hopefully be seeing less of their pastor, meaning that there would be less of me to see. Unfortunately, the desire to fulfill those steps was no match for my lack of willpower. It’s been about 10 years now since I’ve been wearing a pedometer and tracking my workouts and following the requirements to receive cash incentives and to avoid paying a higher insurance deductible. Yes, we will be charged an increased deductible if we don’t comply with certain requirements! In all this time I have lost weight, maintained weight, and gained weight back. When I was hospitalized with congestive heart failure I had 12 extra pounds of fluid which seemed to fluctuate over the past few years. At this point I’ve strayed even farther from my previous weight loss mark. I realize all the health risks, unnecessary joint pains, and overall unpleasantness of being overweight, but until I found something to strengthen my willpower I just didn’t know how to complete a plan. I did find a cognitive behavioral therapy method of weight loss, one that helps you retrain the way you think about food and provides methods of slowing down, being more aware of what you eat, and what your goals are. I believe I now have the method I need and the determination to lose weight and feel better about myself. My goal is to lose at least 20 pounds by the time of my daughter’s wedding in March. Beyond that I have more to company website lose, but taking it slow is always the healthy way. I know that starting in January the ads for weight loss plans such as NutriSystem will flood the television (another good reason to watch streaming programs online!) and maybe this time I won’t have to feel guilty when they try to persuade me to lose weight.
To continue coronary atherosclerosis reading ‘There Has to Come a Time – Blogs – Redwood Falls Gazette’, visit http://www.redwoodfallsgazette.com/article/20141214/BLOGS/312149980/-1/news

Leave a Reply

